2017 Hart trophy preview


  Every league has a Hart trophy, but the NHL is the only league that calls it the Hart trophy. The other leagues call it MVP. The Hart trophy is awarded to the best NHL player. This year\’s Hart finalists are Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers and Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

     Crosby has been the best player in the world about his entire career. This year, he played like a star, with 89 points (44 goals and 45 assists) in 75 games. His 44 goals won the Maurice \”Rocket\” Richard trophy. \”Sid the Kid\” has had a successful career, with a pair of Harts under his belt already.

     In just his second season, McDavid scored 100 points (30 goals and 70 assists) in 82 games. At 20 years old, McDavid is the youngest captain in NHL history. If he wins the Hart, he\’ll be the youngest to win the Hart since Crosby won it at 20 in 2007.

     Goalies aren\’t your average Hart winner, but Carey Price won the Hart 2 years ago. Bobrovsky should win the Vezina this year, with his GAA of 2.06 and SV% of .931. He led his Blue Jackets to the playoffs, and that\’s impressive, because they were a mess last year.

     I think McDavid will win. He had the more points than Crosby, so he\’s already better than him. You could argue that Bobrovsky was better, but even if they were the same age, would you trade Bobrovsky for McDavid? I would in a heartbeat.

Published by carterhud

Carterhud.com. SI Kids Kid Reporter, Prime Time Sports Talk writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: