Was changing the intentional walk rule a mistake?

   
  For the 2017 season and beyond, the MLB changed a rule that has lasted for as long as baseball has existed. That is the intentional walk rule. If a team wants, they can pitch 4 balls WAY outside the zone, letting the batter take first base. That\’s the way the rule has always been.

      But now, the team can just say \”go to first base\” to the batter, and they don\’t need to throw any pitches. But the real question is, was it a mistake to change the rule?

       The MLB has been looking to quicken the pace of games. Not many people enjoy watching 3+ hours of ball. So, they thought this rule change would help that.

        I don\’t think that helps. It saves about 2 minutes. When there\’s a pitching change, we see 5 minutes of commercials, and about 3 or more pitchers pitch for a team a day. These relievers are already ready to throw after throwing in the bullpen for some time. So, that would be a much better idea.

Published by carterhud

Carterhud.com. SI Kids Kid Reporter, Prime Time Sports Talk writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: