How they were built: Tampa Bay Rays

Image result for rays 2019
            The Rays are always an interesting team. They have success despite a low payroll, so it should be interesting to see how they made that team. This is how they were built.

Mike Zunino
In November 2018, the Rays acquired Zunino, Guillermo Heredia and Michael Plassmeyer from the Mariners for Mallex Smith and Jake Fraley.
Michael Perez
In July 2018, the Rays acquired Perez and Brian Shaffer from the Diamondbacks for Matt Andriese.

Ji-Man Choi
In June 2018, the Rays acquired Choi from the Brewers for Brad Miller and cash.
Brandon Lowe
Lowe was drafted in the third round of the 2015 draft
Willy Adames
Adames was acquired in a three team trade with the Tigers and Mariners on July 31st, 2014. The Rays acquired Adames, Drew Smyly and Nick Franklin, and traded David Price.
Yandy Diaz
Diaz was acquired in a three team trade with the Mariners and Indians in December 2018. The Rays acquired Diaz and Cole Sulser, and traded Jake Bauers.
Daniel Robertson
In January 2015, Robertson was acquired from the A\’s along with John Jaso, Boog Powell and cash. The team gave up Yunel Escobar and Ben Zobrist.
Christian Arroyo
Arroyo was acquired in December 2017 from the Giants with Denard Span, Stephen Woods and Matt Krook for Evan Longoria.

Kevin Kiermaier
Kiermaier was drafted in the 31st round in 2010.
Tommy Pham
Pham was acquired from the Cardinals in July 2018 with international bonus pool money for Justin Williams, Roel Ramirez and Genesis Cabrera.
Austin Meadows
Meadows was acquired from the Pirates in July 2018 with Tyler Glasnow and Shane Baz for Chris Archer.
Guillermo Heredia
Heredia was acquired in November 2018 along with Mike Zunino and Michael Plassmeyer for Mallex Smith and Jake Fraley.
Avisail Garcia
The Rays signed Garcia to a one year deal this January.

Blake Snell
Snell was a first round pick (52nd overall) in 2011.
Charlie Morton
Morton signed a two year deal with the Rays in December.
Tyler Glasnow
Glasnow was acquired on July 31st, 2018 from the Pirates with Austin Meadows and Shane Baz for Chris Archer.
Ryan Yarbrough
Yarbrough was acquired in January 2017 from the Mariners with Mallex Smith and Carlos Vargas for Drew Smyly.
Yonny Chirinos
Chirinos was signed by the Rays in June 2012 as an amateur free agent.
Diego Castillo
Castillo signed with the Rays in March 2014 as an amateur free agent.
Jalen Beeks
Beeks was acquired in July 2018 from the Red Sox for Nathan Eovaldi.
Adam Kolarek
Kolarek signed as a free agent in March 2017.
Wilmer Font
Font was acquired in May 2018 from the A\’s for Peter Bayer.
Ryne Stanek
Stanek was a 1st round pick (29th overall) in 2013.
Chaz Roe
In July 2017, Roe was purchased from the Braves.
Jose Alvarado
In March 2012, the Rays signed Alvarado as an amateur free agent.

Matt Duffy
In August 2016, the Rays acquired Duffy, Lucius Fox and Michael Santos from the Giants for Matt Moore.
Joey Wendle
In December 2017, the Rays acquired Wendle from the A\’s for Jonah Heim.
Jose De Leon
The Rays acquired De Leon from the Dodgers in January 2017 for Logan Forsythe.


Published by carterhud SI Kids Kid Reporter, Prime Time Sports Talk writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: